blog |
Understanding the Intricacies: A Comprehensive Review of CMMC in Cybersecurity

Understanding the Intricacies: A Comprehensive Review of CMMC in Cybersecurity


As cybersecurity threats become more sophisticated, there's a growing need to secure vital information through strict cybersecurity compliance standards. One of the most salient regulatory frameworks in the industry is the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC). Hence, this 'CMMC review' aims to simplify the complexities surrounding this concept and make the intricate details comprehensible.

A Brief Overview of CMMC

The Department of Defense (DoD) introduced the vastly discussed CMMC model to secure the Defense Industrial Base (DIB) sector from cyber threats. It is designed to measure and enhance the capability and maturity of a company's cybersecurity infrastructure. This model has five maturity levels, allowing companies to progressively improve their defenses while ensuring compliance with more substantial security standards as they advance.

Understanding the Components of CMMC

Our CMMC review would be incomplete without breaking down the critical components. Principally, it contains five levels, 17 capability domains, 43 capabilities, and 171 practices distributed across these various levels.

CMMC Levels

Each level of CMMC lays a foundation for the next, signifying a progression in the depth and sophistication of cybersecurity capabilities. In increasing order of maturity, the levels are:

  1. Basic Cyber Hygiene: Contains 17 practices based on FAR clause 52.204-21 plus another 6 from other sources.
  2. Intermediate Cyber Hygiene: Includes the above with an additional 48 practices mainly derived from NIST SP 800-171r1.
  3. Good Cyber Hygiene: In addition to the earlier levels, it contains 45 more practices.
  4. Proactive: Contains the previous practices plus an extra 11 and three from other sources.
  5. Advanced/Progressive: This level contains 15 new practices from other sources, bringing the cumulative total to 171.

For clear comprehension, each level also consists of processes that range from being performed to optimized at higher levels. The progression through the stages signifies the organization’s commitment to integrating cybersecurity practices and regularly improving them.


There are 17 domains in CMMC, each concerning a specific area of the cybersecurity framework. These domains are a re-arrangement of the 14 categories in NIST SP 800-171r1, plus three additional areas namely: Asset Management, Recovery, and Situational Awareness.


Capabilitiesin the CMMC framework fall under the domains and help achieve the objectives of each domain. These 43 capabilities provide organizations with a practical set of cybersecurity goals that contribute to the overall security standards.


These are the specific activities that organizations must implement to meet their capability objectives. They are sequential and progressive across the levels of maturity.

Understanding the Importance of CMMC

CMMC has crafted a universal standard of best practices for cybersecurity in delivering DoD contracts. With this certification, DIB contractors are assuring the federal government about the safety of the Controlled Unclassified Information they handle. Furthermore, it acts as a deterrent for potential cybercriminals, making it harder to infiltrate organizations with superior cybersecurity practices.

Navigating the Certification Process

In this 'CMMC review,' we make the certification process less daunting by breaking it down:

  1. Preparation: This phase involves understanding the CMMC's requirements and conducting a self-assessment of your current capabilities.
  2. CMMC Consultation: Organizations may choose to work with CMMC-AB certified professionals to interpret the requirements and develop a strategy to meet them.
  3. Remediation: At this stage, gaps identified in the self-assessment are addressed.
  4. Certification: Third Party Assessment Organizations (C3PAOs) will conduct an independent evaluation of the organization's compliance with the CMMC framework.
  5. Maintain Compliance: Continuous monitoring and improvement processes come in play to ensure compliance is maintained and that cybersecurity defenses stay robust.

Securing the CMMC certification should not be seen as a hurdle, but an opportunity to enhance your cybersecurity practices while opening doors to more DoD contracting opportunities.


In conclusion, the CMMC framework establishes a robust, scalable model of cybersecurity best practices necessary for organizations working with the DoD. This 'CMMC review' underscores the value of comprehending the intricacies of the model while shedding light on its importance and the certification process. Achieving CMMC compliance is not an endpoint, but rather a journey toward continuous cyber hygiene and maturity. Remember, cybersecurity isn't static, and the drive to improve should never end.